Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Web Search and Information Sites
Return to the Main Menu.
WebMaster: Winton W. Lowery mailto:wlowery@rma.edu


Yahoo | Web Crawler | Lycos | Cyber411 | Search.com |Alta Vista | W3 Search Engines | OneKey Search | Excite
Exploration | WOW | Veronica Search | CUI W3 Catalog | The World Wide Web Worm | HotBot Search | Infoseek
BigFoot | LookSmart | WWW, Wanderers, and Spiders | Archie Browser | Archie WWW Gateway | Multilink Metacrawler
All-in-One Search Page | PathFinder | Switchboard | 555-1212 | WebSearch | Cyberlands | Magellan | Four11 | BOBAWORLD


Catagory Index
Search Engines
Directories
Reference Sites
Locate People, Data, Business
News And Weather
Computers-Internet-Software


Search Engines

Alta Vista http://www.altavista.digital.com Wide Range of Power Search Functions
Excite http://www.excite.com Search and Stemming Capabilities
Hot Bot http://www.hotbot.com Wide Range of Power Search Capabilities
Infoseek http://www.infoseek.com Search and Stemming Capabilities
Lycos http://www.lycos.com New Upgrade, Use when others fail
The Searcher http://www.cpcug.org/user/jlacombe/search.html Links to over 50 search engines-Archie-FTP-Multiple search
Cyber 411 http://www.cyber411.ocm/search 15 Search Engines - One Query
Meta Crawler http://www.metacrawler.com Queries to Several Engines at same time
Savvy Search http://wagner,cs,colostate,edu:1969 Searches Several Engines at same time
W3 Search Engines http://www.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs.cms.edu/misc/mosaic/common/omega/web/searches.html Many Search Engines
All In One http://www.albany.net/allinone Many Search Engines
Open Text http://index.opentext.net Excellent for Power Searching
Web Crawler http://www.webcrawler.com Small and Friendly
Search Com http://www.search.com Links to huge range of Search engines and Directories
World Wide Web Worm http://wwww.cs.colorado.edu/wwww One of first Search engines
FTP Search http://ftpsearch.ntnu.no/ftpsearch FTP search v3.4 - Norway
Yahoo!'s Web Search http://www.yahoo.com/Computers_and_Internet/Internet/World_Wide_Web/Searching_the_Web
Euro Seek http://euroseek.net European-based Search Engine - Covers Globe
AT1 http://www.at1.com Special Databases used by Press/Congress/Companies
Netscape-Whats New http://home.netscape.com/home/whats-new.html
Netscape-Whats Cool http://home.netscape.com/home/whats-cool.html
Netscape-Destinations http://guide.netscape.com/guide
Netscape-Ne Search http://home.netscape.com/escapes/search/ntsrchrnd-2.html
Netscape-People http://guide.netscape.com/guide/people.html
Netscape-Software http://home.netscape.com/comprod/upgrades/index.html
Microsoft-Explorer Search http://home.microsoft.com/access/allinone.asp

Back to Top of Page


Directories
(human intervention)

Magellan http://www.mckinley.com
Yahoo! http://www.yahoo.com
Net Guide http://www.netguide.com Net Guide Site
Exploration http://www.amdahl.com/internet Search Engines, Guides, Archie, News, Weather, Topics, Tech Info, etc.
WOW http://www.ecliptic.com/wow/index.htm Multiple Subjects, Answers, Books, Finance, News, Travel, etc.
Path Finder http://pathfinder.com News, Weather, Guides, Finance, Entertainment, etc.
One Key Search http://www.onekey.com Multiple Search Catagories.

Back to Top of Page


Reference Sites

WWWebster Dictiionary http://www.m-w.com/netdict.htm Dictionary
One Look Dictionaries http://www.onelook.com Dictionaries
Languages http://www.travlang.com/languages Foreign Languages for Travelers
Lottery/Lotto http://www.interlotto.com Lottery's, Lotto, etc.
Quotations http://www.columbia.edu/acis/bartleby/bartlett
The Quotation Pages http://www.starlingtech.com/quotes
Thesaurus http://www.thesarus.com Thesaurus
Old Farmers Almanac http://www.almanac.com The Old Farmers Almanac
Ask An Expert http://www.askanexpert.com/askanexpert/index.html Links to Experts from All Walks of Life
Find Out http://www.findout.com Findout's free Reference Service
Dates http://www.juneau.com/home/Janice/calendarland CalandarLand Links and calendar software
Encyclopedia http://www,eb,com Britannica Online (7 day free trial)
My Virtual Reference Desk http://www.refdesk.com Vast and Varied Reference Resources - Links
How To http://www.learn2.com Ordinary Tasks
Money Watch http://www.barens.com Market Day Analysis, Market Surveillance
Your Money http://www.cnnfn.com/yourmoney CNN Financial Network
Currency http://www.xe.net/currency Currency Converter
US Congress http://www.congress.org U.S. Congress
US Government http://www.constitution.org/ Congress, Senete, Constitution, Bill Of Rights, Links

Back to Top of Page


Locate People, Data, Business

People-White Pages http://www.four11.com Four11 Directory Service : E-Mail, Telephone, Net-Phone
Switch Board http://www2.switchboard.com Name, Address, Email
555-1212 http://www.555.12212.com Name, Telephone, Address, Email, Area Codes, Web Sites
Big Foot http://www.bigfoot.com White Pages, Names, Addresses, Email
Who's Who-Biography http://www.biography.com Online Data Base
Businesses-Yellow Pages http://www.bigbook.com BigBook Businesses Yellow Pages
Genealogy Research http://www.rootsweb.com Genealogy Research - Data Bases - Links
Genealogy Sites http://pages.prodigy.com/strawn/sites.htm Over 40,000 Top Genealogy Sites
Genealogy Home Pages http://pages.prodigy.com/strawn/hgenhome.htm Genealogy Home Pages
City Net http://www.city.net Maps, People finder, Yellow Pages, City Guides, etc.
Map Quest http://www.mapquest.com Maps, Atlas, Driving directions
Postal Zip http://www.cedar.buffalo.edu/adserv.html ZIP Codes, missing address Data
US Postal Service http://www.usps.gov Postal Service Information, Zip's, etc.
UPS http://www.ups.com United Parcel Service Tracking
Fed Express http://www.fedex.com Federal Express Tracking

Back to Top of Page


News and Weather

Newspapers http://lcweb.loc.gov/global/bytitle.html Current U.S. Newspapers Index
New York Post http://nypostonline.com New York Post Online
New York Times
http://www.nytimes.com/mhome.html Hew York Times Newspaper
Washington Post
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/front.htm Washington Post Newspaper
Washington Times
http://www.washtimes.com Washington Times Newspaper
Fox News http://www.foxnews.com Fox News Network
ABC News
http://www.abcnews.com ABC News
USA Today
http://www.usatoday.com USA Today Newspaper
CNN
http://www.cnn.com CNN Cable Network
Daja News http://www.dajanews.com Search NewsGroups Discussions, Archives
Accuweather http://www.accuweather.com
Intellicast http://www.intellicast.com
National Weather Service http://www.nws.noaa.gov
USA Today Weather http://www.usatoday.com/weather/wfront.htm
The Weather Channel http://www.weather.com

Back to Top of Page


Computers-Internet-Software

Netscape http://www.netscape.com Netscape - Browsers- Servers- Software
Microsoft http://www.microsoft.com Microsoft Corp. Software, Updates, Broswer, Server
Shareware http://www.shareware.com Shareware Com - Excellent sife for Shareware
Windows95 http://www.windows95.com Windows 95 Shareware - Excellent site
Computing http://www.filez.com Find a File Fast, Smart Search Engine
Web Developer http://www.stars.com For HTML Validation, Resources, Library
Jumbo http://www.jumbo.com Jumbo Software/Shareware Site - Large collection
PC Computing http://www.pccomputing.com PC Computing Site - Large FREE download site
Real http://www.real.com Real Player Plus site - streaming Audio and Video player, Voice EMail
Sound Ring http://www.nidlink.com/~ruger/ring.html Sound Ring - 250 Sites - WAV, RealAudio, Other sounds

Back to Top of Page


Return to the Main Menu.

Visit the Lowery Genealogy Site http://www.geocities.com/heartland/1041

Star Trek.........